Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation



Home > breadcrumbs: Activities > breadcrumbs: FBLA >


Ajax Loading Image


Skip image

 Story image 1_0

A Legacy of Leadership

JB FBLA Qualifies 11 to Nationals

    A soft-spoken D.J., an American Ninja Warrior competitor, and a retiring business teacher walk into a ballroom. Yes, that really happened. FBLA’s 2017 State Leadership Conference was a time for its 2,300 attendees to make memories and start a legacy of their own. This year’s Keynote Speaker was Hoan Do, who is a student success coach, an author, and a competitor on American Ninja Warrior. He spoke to the students about having the right attitude, accepting their emotions, and connecting with others. He also gave his own lip-synced rendition of ‘Oh, Mickey’ while in a cheerleader uniform and wig, showing how he has overcome his fear of looking stupid and attempting to teach the students that they shouldn’t care either.

    Others who spoke at the conference included those running to become Nebraska FBLA State Officers. Of those who ran for President, D.J. Hardwick earned a surprise victory after a soft-spoken talk. However, his ideas and goals impressed the FBLA delegates and got him the presidency.

    Johnson-Brock students brought home many an award, with 11 top eight placings. Nine of these were group pre-events, showing the hard work and dedication J-B students put in before the competition. “The students put countless hours into these projects,” said Advisor Sylvia Smith. Out of those, four got 1st in the state. Terra Newman, Krista Riley, Brittany Stewart, Kacie Hahn, Brynn Westenburg, Kolton Witte, Bailey Johnson, Emily Oestmann, Ben Bohling, Ben Clark, and Dylan Rowe are the National Qualifiers. Although much credit is due to these students, the person who deserves the biggest credit is J-B’s retiring Business Teacher Mrs. Smith who began the organization and served as sponsor for the past 17 years. “The most rewarding part of FBLA has been seeing these students grow and develop their business skills over their 4-year careers,” said Smith.

         This year’s national convention in Anaheim, California, is a destination that has qualifiers excited. “Getting first again (in our group project) just shows the effort we put in. Now, we get to go to Disneyland!” senior Terra Newman said.

Top 8 Placings

1st place           Business Plan -- Terra Newman, Krista Riley, Brittany Stewart

1st place           Business Financial Plan -- Kacie Hahn, Brynn Westenburg, Kolton Witte

1st place           Digital Video Production -- Bailey Johnson, Emily Oestmann, Brynn Westenburg

1st place           Graphic Design -- Kacie Hahn and Emily Oestmann

3rd place          E-business -- Ben Bohling, Ben Clark,  Dylan Rowe

4th place          Electronic Career Portfolio -- Wyatt Nickels

4th place          Emerging Business Issues -- Terra Newman, Kaitlynn Simon, Kolton Witte

4th place          Website Design -- Jaxson Balm, Tanner Ebeler, Kacie Hahn

5th place          Intro to Business Presentation -- Ty Hahn, Liz Hodges, Elaina Riley

6th place          Insurance and Risk Management — Brittany Stewart

7th place          Management Decision Making -- Jaxson Balm, Tanner Ebeler, Angela Wenzl


Honorable Mention


Organizational Leadership      Brynn Westenburg

Publication Design                  Bailey Johnson and Hunter Stewart

Personal Finance                     Brittany Stewart

Word Processing                     Miranda Shreves

Back To Top